Home > Comedy and Satire > “I Wish I Had a River…” I Could Skate Away

“I Wish I Had a River…” I Could Skate Away


Joni Mitchell’s Wonderful Song, Sung by Martin Tielli, Featuring Hugh Marsh, with Members of the Rheostatics

By Joe Bodolai (c) 2010, All rights reserved

Being in the States, even though I was born here, makes me miss Canada. It’s my spiritual home. It does make me feel a strong yearning for peace and serenity in the world and in myself. I wish the same for all those of you I know or whose paths have crossed with mine in some way over the years. The video below seems to capture some of my feelings even though they are in someone else’s words with someone else’s voice. The song is “The River”, by Joni Mitchell. This remarkable live performance of it is sung by Martin Tielli, accompanied by violinist Hugh Marsh and members of The Rheostatics, from my series Friday Night! on CBC Television. This live-to-air performance is full of the emotional nostalgic moments and wishes that I feel, and perhaps so do you. Please enjoy the gift these artists shared with me.

Categories: Comedy and Satire
  1. Peter Cohen
    December 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Very passionate performance with a very unique and dissonant arrangement. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

  2. Billy
    December 25, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Thanks Joe,
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
    Sincerely,
    Billy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

