Seeing World Events Through Celebrity Tweets


“freedom is what it’s all about!!!” So…what about Israel? ?

By Joe Bodolai (c) 2011, All rights reserved.

One thing about American life today is that when world events unfold faster than Gap customers at a sale, our celebrities will be there to keep it all in perspective with their analysis especially on Twitter.  When regime change in Egypt was happening the big names swung into action, and I immediately joined the conversation:

My Reply to Lindsay Lohan's Inspired Celebrity Political Insight refers to...?

Immediately after I replied to her, Lindsay realized she might seem a tad shallow and posted this:

Lindsay Lohan: Congratulations to the people of Egypt. Your voices were heard and you proved that peaceful demonstrations are possible and effective …. x… And I pray Egypt maintains it’s treaty with Israel and sets the trend for its neighbors to create peace with Israel and the entire region.

I guess she decided that I was somehow referring to her hope that Egypt would “maintain it’s (sic) treaty with Israel” and “set a trend.” The world needs new “trends”. I guess she has something in common with Israel: theft! (necklaces, Gaza, West Bank… that kind of stuff. Oh, and one of them has nuclear weapons, also stolen. Think Congress minds?) If this seems like a non-sequitur to you, I can’t think of Egypt today without thinking of Israel. And our “experts” (the not-hot people on news channels) applaud the Egyptian military for taking Lindsay’s advice. They will “honor” the treaty. Plus ca change….

Noticing this intellectual forum was being noticed by the masses of even MTV viewers, a pair of big guns came out, Kim Kardashian:

Kim Kardashian: What a historic day for Egypt! The people of Egypt made the regime step down!!! Now they can enjoy the freedom they deserve!

Party time in Egypt!!! It’s a three exclamation mark political thingy!!!I am so pro-freedom!!!!

All this week, we will be treated to late night talk shows as one after another of our great political analyst/partay realityshow people will announce “I just wanna say this about what went down over there in Egypt…” Audiences will hush for the momentous decree… “freedom is what it’s all about.” Cue applause, grave appreciative expression from host, or maybe throw to commercial with a solemn “we’ll be right back,” as if the celebrity’s dictum just spiked the ball in the end zone of injustice. Celebrities who are famous for no discernible talent or moral notoriety seem to have replaced traditional spiritual leaders such as churches and religion for those who find the traditional conduits to higher wisdom irrelevant, out of touch, or plain ass-whacked. In the aftermath of the Japan earthquake, I saw this invocation of St. Kim of Kardashian in this young woman’s tweet to her:

Aftermath of Tragedy Brings Prayers to Patron Saint of Depilatories

Of course, some celebrities had far more urgent concerns and immediately provided relief, such as 50-Cent who reminded us he would assist with a massive airlift:

Rapper Provides Hope for Shaken Hoes

This kind of says how I feel right now:

Oh, and don’t forget that I have a new email address. It’s one that I think really expresses my uniqueness, artistic vision, and my concern for others:

someguyatstarbucks@me.com

It’s real. Go ahead and email me. I’ll email you back. Promise.

 

  1. February 12, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I wish I could kluge together an awesome star-worthy Egypt tweet! Something like:

    @rdsathene A major shout out to my homies in Egypt, may we see working class revolutions spread from the Near East to everywhere ya’ll!!!

    But I’m not cool enough to be followed by Ms. Gaga and Lohan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

